家庭和离婚

离婚&分离

结束你们的关系通过分离或离婚是一种生活\'s最紧张的经验。

分离是一个简单的想法:你必须简单地开始生活"独立的,除了"从另一个,是否在同一屋檐下或在独立的家园。 对于已婚夫妇,分表明最初的分列的关系,但不能释放你的债券你的婚姻。 对未婚夫妻,包括那些有资格作为€œspousesâ欧元根据《家庭法》规定,分离是所有需要终结你们的关系。

日期分离是很重要的,因为有关的问题时间限制和财产分割/债务流量从那个日期。 法律不同,取决于如果你是一个已婚或未婚夫妇。 讲给我们更多的细节。

离婚是法律溶解的有效婚姻。 得到一个,配偶一方必须起诉的其他在最高法院,以及至少你们中的一个必须是"普通居民"在不列颠哥伦比亚于前一年。 必须有证据证明的一个"婚姻破裂的",其中可以包括:生活的独立和分开一年,通奸或残忍。 这些通常是直接的,但是有时候他们不是。 无论如何,法庭将需要作出一项命令你们离婚了。

有争议的vs无可争议的离婚

因为你需要一个法庭以离婚,这是正常的开始诉讼,要求法院对一个以上的所有家庭法有关的问题。 这些可包括命令有关对儿童的照料,该司的财产和债务,支付配偶和/或孩子的支持。

无可争议的

如果你和你的配偶可以同意就所有问题之间你,然后你可能会文件对于一个€œUncontested Divorceâ欧元. 对你来说,这个选项可能是少情绪排水,以及最经济实惠。 提供满足基本要求的法律要求,法院可能会授予离婚的请求。

有争议的

如果你和你的配偶继续争取有关监护权、财产或支持的问题,那么你是在跟踪一个€œContested Divorceâ欧元. 虽然较为昂贵,一个审判有时是必需的,如果配偶一方是在特别不公平或不合理的,这种情况要求的最终法院裁决。

财产分割

三角洲法律办公室可以帮助你家庭法律协定的所有种类型:

在公元前的法律,配偶一般保持的财产,他们每个人带入关系和分享的东西,他们得在他们之间的关系。 这同样适用于债务。

我们将引导你穿过的过程中重视你的财产并确定其资产和负债最有可能被视为€œincludedâ欧元和€œexcludedâ欧元,对于除以你的财产/负债。

要求苛刻的全部财务公开,并且采取步骤,在那里存在的缺点,三角洲法律办公室保证,否则整除家庭财产是不能隐藏或处置。 这是一个关键部分,我们如何帮助你实现一个公平的结果。

BC的家庭财产的分割可通过谈判达成的协议或法院。 我们将会引导你走向的最适当的路径对你的独特需要和情况。

家庭法律协定

三角洲法律办公室可以帮助你家庭法律协定的所有种类型:

反攻™ve离开自己的配偶吗? 提供这些功不幸的,但也许是必要的。 你是否已婚或未婚,现在是时候来咨询一名律师。 我们可以帮你谈判达成一项全面协议处理相当与所有关键问题之间的:照顾你的孩子,该司的财产和债务,支付孩子或配偶的支持,以及更多。 主要受益于这种方法是你(而不是法官)的有控制流程和最终的结果。

反攻™重新在一起? 你应该知道,一旦你和你的男朋友/女友一起生活了2年或更长,则将被视为€œspousesâ欧元下BC法律。 这意味着你将有许多相同的权利和责任,作为已婚夫妇除非你有一个协议,有助于确定你的安排自己的职权。

反攻™重新获得结婚吗? 虽然大多数的希望一辈子在一起,你可能希望确保自己的权利和财产的充分保护,如果你和你的后来的配偶分手了。

配偶和儿童支助

配偶支持

这个问题的配偶支助提出了三个问题:(1)是,你有权要求(或必须支付);(2)什么是适当的数额;和(3)多长时间应支付的?

一般来说,订单或协议要求支付配偶的支持是恰当的其中:1)一个配偶已经遭受经济损失或困难,由于作出的决定期间关系或其终结;2)一个合同之间存在的配偶要求赡养费支付;或者3)一个配偶在财务需要之后,分离和另一配偶能够支付从他/她可支配收入。

该问题的€如何muchâ元和€如何longâ元是复杂的,取决于是否有孩子或不行,并最后确定我们考虑你独特的事实。 你是否需要支助或者是面临的一个请求支持,我们可以帮你理解你的权利和义务,以及你的选择。

儿童支助

f,之后分离,你是主要的父母和照顾你的孩子,你最可能有权获得儿童支助自己的配偶。 相反,如果你不是主要照顾者分离之后,你将可能必须支付向支持您的儿童(任).

该数额将由所参照的联邦儿童支助指导方针。 一般来说,相关的因素包括收入支付的父母和子女人数。 €特别expensesâ元例如日间护理、医疗或牙科费和€非凡的expensesâ元像私立学校,首先必须确定,然后,如果他们有资格,常常是共用你的配偶在同一比例为你的收入。

有几个例外情况的一般规则,上文所述。 我们会帮助你的支付或得到公平和适当数量的儿童的支持。

儿童监护权和访问

中心给很多家庭法律争端是确定谁该儿童应该生活和花费时间,他们将如何提出,以及谁将负责重要的决定影响他们的生活。

联邦《离婚法》使用的语言的€custodyâ元和€accessâ元当处理这个问题。 最近颁布了公元前的法律使用的语言的€guardianshipâ元,€父母responsibilitiesâ元和€育儿timeâ元. 这两套法律强调€œthe最佳利益的childrenâ欧元.

咨询与三角洲法律办公室看到你的权利、义务和特权可能是,当通过透镜观看的是什么最适合你的孩子(人).

儿童保护

f儿童\'s的安全风险,€œMinistry的儿童和家庭Developmentâ欧元必须考虑并进行调查。 如果儿童保护的关注是重要的,该部可以决定要监督你的孩子在您的家庭,甚至更糟糕的是,把你的孩子从你一段时间。 这已经是一个最破坏的情况下,可以想象,特别是因为该部似乎有所有的控制。

我们将努力确保公平的对待,由该部在这一过程中,具有公正的监督条款,以及酌情,有您的儿童返回,尽快。

保护令

有时,人们可以威胁或攻击。 同样的属性,它可能不公平地处置或消散。 在任何一种情况下,如果你担心安全的人员或资产,有立即的步骤,可以采取的形式保护令。

我们会听带的敏感性和工作热忱,以保护你,你的亲人,或者你的财产。

请打电话预约一个我们家的法律专业人员。三角洲法律办公室提供全范围的家庭法律服务,从离婚到拘押,财产分割之间的一切。

我们的专业团队

Our Team works together closely to provide you with assistance on any questions you may have throughout the process. There is always someone available to assist you with your case.

Krista Singh

Legal Admin Assistant

Frequently Asked Questions

我的配偶和我最近分离我感兴趣的一个法院的选项,以帮助我们解决的问题,我们不能同意。 其中一个选项我都听说了是离婚协作,它是什么?

协作性离婚是一个争议解决办法,可用于分配偶双方解决纠纷出现之后,一个分离,例如为人父母的安排,儿童支持、配偶支持和分割财产和债务。 所有律师实践合作的离婚法必须具有完成一个最低数量的强制性培训的重点是关于调解和协作性离婚的技能。

除了两名律师代表的每个配偶,该进程是依赖于专门技能的离婚教练和在需要时,儿童和金融专家。 虽然有些人担心的费用增加专家的争议解决程序,其效果往往是相反的。 他们往往具有较低的每小时费率比律师和可以帮助该缔约方避免的情绪驱动的决定,因此,往往延长进程和增加的法律费用。

该法律协作的方法是建立在一项协议,缔约方将不参与法院的进程,并且将提供完整的财务披露。 缔约方随后参加会议,与他们的律师和专家,以解决争端在相互尊重的方式的过程可使各方拿出一项协议,适合每个familyâ元s需要。

我的配偶和我们分离之后的10年婚姻和我们有两个孩子。 我想草案,我自己的分离协议使用的概要我在网上找到的,它将有效?

虽然分离协议不需要草拟或签署的一名律师是有效的,做它自己的分离协议是有风险的。 这是非常罕见的,自草拟的分离协议将包含所有必要的条款和豁免,以影响一个部门的家庭财产和债务或成功地实现所希望的为人父母的安排。 这可能导致问题的强制执行该协议以后如果你的配偶不遵守已经达成的协议。 同样,如果儿童的支持和养育子女的部分是不够的,这可能会延迟或阻止你获准离婚直到纠正。 这是因为您需要证明,适足已作出安排,为儿童以前的离婚将被授予它重要的是,你和你的配偶获得独立的法律咨询意见的任何分离协议签署这样,你了解你的权利和了解的协议。 独立的法律咨询可以保护你的未来应该配偶的尝试和改变什么是在该协定。

我要搬去跟我的合伙人,什么我应该知道关于进入一个同居协议?

在三月18日,2013年家庭法法案》取代当前的家庭关系法》生重大的变化家庭法》在不列颠哥伦比亚省。 最大的变化之一是,普通法的夫妇将遵循相同的财产分割作为已婚夫妇在破裂他们的关系。 普通法的夫妇,对于财产分割的家庭法》规定,包括两个人谁生活在婚姻状的关系在至少两年。 推定是,在关系破裂每个合作伙伴将享有一半的任何€家庭propertyâ元和增加值的€排除propertyâ元. 如果你想出不同的安排对于财产的分割然后同居协议的方式这样做。 同居协议还可以包括的细节如何,每一缔约方将促进财政期间关系的条款的配偶的支持,如果有的话,应该关系崩溃。 每一个同居协议需要具体到你的情况如此至关重要的是,你咨询一名律师的建议之前起草和签署任何协定。

我的前夫停止支付每月的儿童支持我们的10岁的孩子,有什么我可以做什么呢?

答案取决于你是否已经有一个分离协议或法院命令,要求他/她支付孩子的支持。 如果你不做,你可以登记的家庭赡养强制执行程序(FMEP),他们将监测和强制执行付款。 有没有是一个历史的延迟或未接付款,以便进行注册。 该FMEP还可以帮助收集欠款是未在登记的时间。 有时措辞的协议或命令不足为FMEP强制执行的条款和你会需要采取额外的步骤以获得一份订正序或协议与适当的术语。 你应该咨询律师的法律意见如果你有问题有关的措辞。

如果你没有一个儿童支助命令或协议,然后FMEP将不能够帮助你。 我建议你说话与律师讨论你的权利给儿童支持的可能性你的前夫支付追溯既往的支持,该过程获得法院命令或协议。

我怎么离婚? 已经有一个分离协议。

为了得到一个离婚你必须开始一个法院应用程序通过提交通知的家庭要求在最高法院不列颠哥伦比亚。 你可以申请离婚的基础上你们已经生活的独立和分开的至少一年。 你的配偶必须提供与提交的申请和他/她有30日文件a的响应。 如果没有回应提交,或配偶的同意,离婚可以继续通过一个台,以应用程序在提交适当的文件。 然而,它可能需要几个星期的过程。 离婚是官方的31日之后的日期判断标志离婚的顺序。

有几个组件来离婚的应用程序和形式必须填写正确为了取得成功。 我建议你咨询一名律师的法律意见有关特定情况下和以确保一切所有你的形式是在订单。

我的配偶和我最近分居和我们没有结婚的协议。 我有权得到配偶支持和如果是这样,多少钱我会接受?

您是否有权得到配偶支助将取决于若干因素,包括角色,你和你的合作伙伴每个月期间的关系。 如果你是不是目前采用的,你能够赚取收入和成自我支持将进行审查。 一个差别在收入不会自动导致权利,以配偶的支持。

如果是建立了你有权得到配偶支助的量和持续的支持,然后确定。 配偶支持咨询准则是通常用来计算的范围量和持续的支持。 你在哪里落在这两种范围是由您的具体情况。 准则考虑到若干因素,包括每个spouseâ欧元的收入,你的年龄,长度的关系和是否有儿童的儿童支助支付。 根据你的情况,配偶的支持可以有时间限制的,或者审查后的一个具体事件或设定的时间期限。

我建议你接触的一名律师的法律意见,关于你的潜力的权利要求以获得一种意见基于您的具体情况。

人身伤害:要解决或起诉?

你有两年期的损害来决定。 一旦你解决你的情况不能重新打开它,如果你的问题回来的或新出现。 忍耐是一种美德和时间就是金钱;一般长你等待的解决办法,更好地解决会。 你的律师将获得所有医疗和收入的信息提供和开始谈判,与保险的不列颠哥伦比亚。 某些情况下迅速安定以及一些可能是复杂的和可能需要几个月或甚至几年之间提供。 如果你高估你的情况下,它将需要更长的时间来达成协议。 有时候人们不希望放弃的斗争中,不管后果。 但是,解决可能带来救济和改进的情绪状态。 如果你必须提起诉讼,以准备参加审查发现,你会被审问了大量关于你的病史你的生活。 如果你的保险不列颠哥伦比亚见到你的情况非常不同,然后你可以去试有一个法官或陪审团的决定。 大多数情况下解决,因为成本、风险和情绪化的动乱的一个审判是太多,对许多人来说。 那里是没有容易的答案的问题€œsettle或sueâ欧元;作为你继续你必须不断地重新评估这个问题与专业指导。

Family and Divorce

Divorce & Separation

Ending your relationship through separation or divorce is one of life\'s most stressful experiences.

Separation is a simple idea: you must simply start living "separate and apart" from one another, whether under the same roof or in separate homes. For married couples, separation indicates the initial breakdown of your relationship but does not release you from the bonds of your marriage. For unmarried couples, including those who qualify as “spouses” under the Family Law Act, separation is all that is needed to end your relationship.

The date of separation is important, since issues relating to limitation periods and the division of property/debt flow from that date. The law differs depending on if you are a married or unmarried couple. Speak to us for more details.

Divorce is the legal dissolution of a valid marriage. To obtain one, one spouse must sue the other in the Supreme Court, and at least one of you must have been "ordinarily resident" in BC for the preceding year. There must be proof of a "breakdown of the marriage", which can include: living separate and apart for one year, adultery, or cruelty. These are normally straightforward, but sometimes they are not. Regardless, a court will need to make an order that you are divorced.

Contested vs Uncontested Divorce

Because you need a court order to get divorced, it is normal to start a proceeding asking the court for an order on all family law issues relevant to you. These could include orders relating to the care of children, the division of property and debt, and the payment of spousal and/or child support.

Uncontested

If you and your spouse can agree on all the issues between you, then you may file for an “Uncontested Divorce”. For you, this option is probably the least emotionally draining, as well as the most affordable. Provided you meet the basic requirements the law requires, the court is likely to grant your divorce request.

Contested

If you and your spouse continue to fight about custody, property or support issues, then you are on the track of a “Contested Divorce”. Though more costly, a trial is sometimes required if one spouse is being particularly unfair or unreasonable, and the situation calls for the finality of a court ruling.

DIVISION OF PROPERTY

Delta Law Office can help you with family law agreements of all kinds:

Under BC law, spouses generally keep the property that each of them brought into the relationship and share in the things they obtained during their relationship. The same holds true for debt.

We will guide you through the process of valuing your property and identifying which assets and liabilities are most likely to be deemed “included” and “excluded”, for the purposes of dividing your property/debt .

Demanding full financial disclosure, and taking steps where there are shortcomings, Delta Law Office ensures that otherwise divisible family property is not hidden or disposed of. This is a key part of how we help you achieve a fair result.

BC family property division can be obtained either through negotiated agreement or the courts. We will steer you towards the most appropriate path for your unique needs and circumstances.

Family Law Agreements

Delta Law Office can help you with family law agreements of all kinds:

You’ve separated from your spouse? That’s unfortunate, but perhaps it was necessary. Whether you were married or unmarried, now is the time to consult a lawyer. we can help you negotiate a comprehensive agreement dealing fairly with all key issues between you: care of your children, the division of property and debt, the payment of child or spousal support, and more. The main benefit of this approach is that you (not a judge) have significant control of the process and the end result.

You’re moving in together? You should know that once you and your boyfriend/girlfriend have lived together for 2 years or more, you will be deemed to be “spouses” under BC law. This means you will have many of the same rights and responsibilities as a married couple unless you have an agreement in place that helps define your arrangement on your own terms.

You’re getting married? While most hope for a lifetime together, you may want to ensure that your rights and property are fully protected, if you and your spouse later split up.

Spousal and Child Support

SPOUSAL SUPPORT

The issue of spousal support raises three questions: (1) are you entitled to claim (or obliged to pay) it; (2) what is the proper amount; and (3) how long should it be paid for?

Generally, an order or agreement calling for the payment of spousal support is proper where: 1) one spouse has suffered economic loss or hardship due to decisions made during the relationship or its end; 2) a contract exists between the spouses requiring spousal support to be paid; or 3) one spouse is in financial need after separation and the other spouse is able to pay from his/her disposable income.

The questions of ‘how much’ and ‘for how long’ are complex, depend on whether you have children or not, and are best determined after we consider your unique facts. Whether you need support or are facing a request for support, we can help you understand your rights and obligations, as well as your options.

CHILD SUPPORT

f, after separating, you are the primary parent of and caregiver for your children, you most likely are entitled to receive child support from your spouse. Conversely, if you are not the main caregiver after separation, you will likely have to pay towards the support of your child(ren).

The amount will be determined by reference to the federal Child Support Guidelines. Generally, relevant factors include the income of the paying parent and the number of children. ‘Special expenses’ such as day care, medical or dental bills and ‘extraordinary expenses’ like private school first must be identified and then, if they qualify, are often shared with your spouse in the same proportion as your incomes.

There are several exceptions to the general rule outlined above. We will help you pay or receive a fair and proper amount of child support.

CHILD CUSTODY & ACCESS

Central to many family law disputes is determining who the children should live and spend time with, how they will be raised, and who will be responsible for important decisions affecting their lives.

The federal Divorce Act speaks of ‘custody’ and ‘access’ when dealing with this issue. Recently-enacted BC law speaks of ‘guardianship’, ‘parental responsibilities’ and ‘parenting time’. Both sets of law emphasize “the best interests of the children”.

Consult with Delta Law Office to see what your rights, obligations and privileges may be, when viewed through the lens of what is best for your child(ren).

CHILD PROTECTION

f a child\'s safety is at risk, the “Ministry of Children and Family Development” must consider it and investigate. If the child protection concern is significant, the Ministry may decide to supervise your child in your home or, even worse, take your child from you for a period of time. This has to be one of the most upsetting situations imaginable, especially since the Ministry seems to have all the control.

We will work to ensure you are treated fairly by the Ministry in this process, to have fair supervision terms, and, wherever appropriate, to have your children returned as soon as possible.

PROTECTION ORDERS

Sometimes, people can be threatened or attacked. The same goes for property, which can be unfairly disposed of or dissipated. In either case, if you fear for the safety of a person or of an asset, there are immediate steps that can be taken in the form of a protection order.

We will listen with sensitivity and work zealously to protect you, your loved ones, or your property.

Delta Law Office provides a full range of family law services, from divorce to custody to property division and everything in between. Please call to book an appointment with one of our Family Law professionals.

Our Dedicated Team

Our Team works together closely to provide you with assistance on any questions you may have throughout the process. There is always someone available to assist you with your case.

Krista Singh

Legal Admin Assistant

Frequently Asked Questions

My spouse and I recently separated and I am interested in an out of court option to help us resolve the issues we cannot agree upon. One of the options I have heard about is Collaborative Divorce, what is it?

Collaborative Divorce is a dispute resolution approach that is available to separated spouses to resolve disputes that arise after a separation, such as parenting arrangements, child support, spousal support, and division of property and debt. All lawyers who practice Collaborative Divorce law must have completed a minimum amount of mandatory training focused on mediation and Collaborative Divorce skills.

In addition to the two lawyers that represent each spouse, the process is dependent upon the specialized skills of divorce coaches and, when required, child and financial specialists. Although some people worry about the costs of adding specialists to the dispute resolution process, the effect is often the opposite. Often they have lower hourly rates than lawyers and can help the parties avoid emotionally driven decisions that so often prolong the process and increase the legal fees.

The Collaborative Law approach is founded upon an agreement that the parties will not engage the court process and will provide full financial disclosure. The parties then participate in meetings with their lawyers and specialists to resolve disputes in a respectful way The process allows parties to come up with an agreement that suits each family’s needs.

My spouse and I are separating after 10 years of marriage and we have two children. I want to draft my own separation agreement using an outline I found online, will it be valid?

While a separation agreement is not required to be drafted or signed by a lawyer to be valid, do- it-yourself separation agreements are risky. It is very rare that a self drafted separation agreement will contain all the necessary clauses and waivers to effect a division of family property and debt or to successfully implement a desired parenting arrangement. This can lead to problems enforcing the agreement later on if your spouse does not follow what was agreed to. As well, if the child support and parenting sections are insufficient, this may delay or prevent you from obtaining a divorce until it is rectified. This is because you are required to prove that adequate arrangements have been made for the children before a divorce will be granted It is important that you and your spouse get independent legal advice on any separation agreement you sign so that you are informed of your rights and understand the agreement. Independent legal advice can protect you in the future should your spouse try and vary what is in the agreement.

I am moving in with my partner, what should I know about entering into a cohabitation agreement?

On March 18, 2013 the Family Law Act replaced the current Family Relations Act resulting in significant changes to family law in British Columbia. One of the biggest changes is that common law couples will be governed by the same property division as married couples upon the breakdown of their relationship. Common law couples, for the purposes of property division in the Family Law Act, include two people who have lived in a marriage like relationship for at least two years. The presumption is that upon a relationship breakdown each partner will be entitled to one half of any ‘family property’ and increases in value of ‘excluded property’. If you want to set out a different arrangement for property division then a cohabitation agreement is the way to do so. A cohabitation agreement can also include details of how each party will contribute financially during the relationship and the terms of spousal support, if any, should the relationship breakdown. Every cohabitation agreement needs to be specific to your situation so it is essential that you consult a lawyer for advice before drafting and signing any agreements.

My ex stopped paying monthly child support for our 10 year old child, is there anything I can do about it?

The answer depends on whether you already have a separation agreement or court order that requires him/her to pay child support. If you do, you can register with the Family Maintenance Enforcement Program (FMEP) and they will monitor and enforce payments. There does not have to be a history of late or missed payments in order to register. The FMEP can also help collect the arrears that are outstanding at the time of registration. Sometimes the wording of your agreement or order is insufficient for the FMEP to enforce the terms and you will need to take extra steps to obtain a revised order or agreement with adequate terminology. You should consult a lawyer for legal advice if you have questions about the wording.

If you do not have a child support order or agreement then the FMEP will not be able to help you. I recommend that you speak with a lawyer to discuss your entitlement to child support, the possibility of your ex paying retroactive support, and the process of obtaining a court order or agreement.

How do I get a divorce? Already have a separation agreement.

In order to get a divorce you must start a court application by filing a Notice of Family Claim in the Supreme Court of British Columbia. You can apply for a divorce on the basis that you have lived separate and apart for at least one year. Your spouse must be served with the filed application and he/she has 30 days to file a Response. If no Response is filed, or your spouse consents, the divorce can proceed by way of a desk order application upon filing the proper documentation. However, it can take several weeks to process. A divorce is official 31 days after the date the judge signs the divorce order.

There are several components to a divorce application and the forms must be filled out correctly in order to be successful. I recommend that you consult a lawyer for legal advice about your specific circumstances and to make sure everything all your forms are in order.

My spouse and I recently separated and we did not have a marriage agreement. Am I entitled to spousal support and if so, how much will I receive?

Whether or not you are entitled to spousal support will depend on several factors, including the roles that you and your partner each took on during the relationship. If you are not currently employed, your ability to earn income and become self supporting will be examined. A difference in incomes does not automatically result in an entitlement to spousal support.

If it is established that you are entitled to spousal support, the amount and duration of support is then determined. The Spousal Support Advisory Guidelines are generally used to calculate a range for the amount and duration of support. Where you fall on both ranges is determined by your specific situation. The Guidelines take into account several factors including each spouse’s income, your ages, the length of your relationship and whether there are children for which child support is payable. Depending on your situation spousal support may be time limited or reviewed after a specific event or set period of time.

I suggest you contact a lawyer for legal advice regarding your potential claim in order to obtain an opinion based on your specific circumstances.

Personal Injury: To Settle or Sue?

You have two years from the date of your injury to decide. Once you settle your case you cannot reopen it if your problems come back or new ones arise. Patience is a virtue and time is money; generally the longer you wait for settlement, the better settlement will be. Your lawyer will get all the medical and income information available and start negotiations with Insurance of British Columbia. Some cases settle quickly and some can be complicated and can take months or even years between offers. If you overvalue your case it will take longer to reach agreement. Sometimes people do not want to let go of the fight, regardless of the consequences. But settlement can bring relief and an improved emotional state. If you have to sue, be prepared to attend an Examination for Discovery where you will be questioned extensively about your medical history and your life. If you and Insurance of British Columbia see your case very differently, then you may go to trial to have a judge or jury decide. Most cases settle because the costs, risks and emotional upheaval of a trial are too much for many people. There is no easy answer to the question “settle or sue”; as you proceed you must continually reevaluate that question with professional guidance.